My new job.

« Older   Newer »
FionaK
view post Posted on 17/3/2012, 00:26

So I started a new job.

As ever, this department is besotted with computers. They are trying to achieve the "paperless office" just like every other benighted office I have worked in lately. This is not a new idea: it seems to be something of a wet dream amongst the powers that be, though I have absolutely no idea why that is, because it is perfectly obvious that it makes everything take longer and is very much less useful than what we used to have, even when it works.

Anyway I arrived to start my job. I never go anywhere there is not a problem with staffing, because I work as a temp and having to pay the agency as well as me means I cost the department more than their own staff do. So usually there is work waiting and there are very short deadlines to be met. The deadlines are a whole other story.....

This job is no exception. In particular there is a report which normally has to be produced in 15 working days, but which has been untouched for 10 of those days before I arrived. Don't ask me why they want a report in 15 days, whether it has any useful content or not. They just do. And as it happens, meeting that 15 day deadline is one of the office's "performance indicators". It matters not what the report says: it only matters that it is produced in 15 days. So I have a week to get it done.